Facebook Party Winners!

Even if you didn’t win a prize from my Facebook party, you still are entitled to these free downloads: A Chart on Mormonism: http://www.rose-publishing.com/client/client_pages/premiums/mormon_landing.cfm A Chart on the Jehovah’s Witnesses: http://www.rose-publishing.com/client/client_pages/premiums/jw_landing.cfm And, from me, in honor of National Poetry Day today, a download of my book of communion poems and devotionals. Copy and paste this address into your browser and wait a few moments for it to download http://www.latayne.com/uploads/2009/10/PPPR.pdf Here are the contest winners: CRACK THE CODE #1  WINNER RHONDA GIBSON CRACK THE CODE #2  (No winner) CRACK THE CODE #3  (no winner) ANSWER THE CIPHER QUESTION #1 WINNER HAROLD L ARNOLD JR ANSWER THE...

Facebook and Twitter Party

What, when, where and why? What: Facebook and Twitter party When: October 8, 2009; 9 pm Eastern, 8 pm Central, 7 pm Mountain, 6 pm Pacific Where: On my Facebook page, Latayne C Scott. (You must be a FB “friend” to participate.) What you’ll win: Everyone wins something. In addition, some lucky participants will win free books; and one person will win a Sony e-Reader. No purchase necessary; odds of winning books or e-Reader depend on your solving puzzles, tweeting, answering questions, and other fun activities that require no knowledge of me nor my writing. Those who solve puzzles etc. win book prizes; and the e-Reader winner will be chosen randomly. You increase your odds of winning the e-reader by tweeting, #latayne hashtag mentions, and...

Reason #103: Because of Mormon Myths about Bible Translations and Transmission

A new book just published by Zondervan, entitled Busted:Exposing Popular Myths about Christianity, has one of the best explanations, in simple language, I’ve ever seen of Biblical textual transmission. Look what author Fred von Kamacke has to say: “Busted” Ch. 3 – Are the Gospels Reliable?...

Reason #102: New Discoveries of Possible Sources for Book of Mormon scenes

I recently became aware of a massive new book that has carefully documented some possible sources for scenes from the Book of Mormon.  Of particular interest is the dream of Nephi with its rod of iron and other features.  What follows is a book review by Joseph Johnstun. Title: Mormon Parallels: A Bibliographic Source Author: Rick Grunder Publisher: Rick Grunder Books Genre: Non-fiction Year Published: 2008 Number of Pages: 2088 Binding: n/a (CD-Rom Included) ISBN10: ISBN13: 978-0-9814708-0-1 Price: $200.00 Reviewed by Joseph Johnstun In his February 1831 review of the Book of Mormon, Alexander Campbell famously wrote, “This prophet Smith, through his stone spectacles, wrote on the plates of Nephi, in his book of Mormon, every error and almost every truth...